Company Team Projects Media Contact


Dr. Bruno François, MD
Dr. François is specialist in Intensive Care medicine and Anaesthesiology at the University Hospital of Limoges, France. He is the Head of the Limoges Clinical Investigational Center of which the main expertise is in Infectious Disease in critically ill patients. He has been national coordinator for several emergency trials especially in Sepsis, VAP, independent Clinical Evaluation Committees and Adjudication Committees. He has an expertise in the practical bedside organization of clinical research in the ICU. He is actively investigating the role of bacterial resistance mechanisms in sepsis.

Prof. Steven M. Opal, MD
Dr. Opal is a Professor at Alpert Medical School, Brown University in Providence, RI. with a training in Internal Medicine and Infectious Disease. Dr. Opal’s interests are in septic shock research, molecular signaling pathways, microbial toxins and mediators, and antibiotic resistance. Clinical trial design and analyses in phase I to phase III trials are his primary clinical research focus. He has published over 250 peer-reviewed, research papers, over 100 editorials and authored over 90 book chapters in infectious diseases and critical care medicine. He is past chair of the International Sepsis Forum and is a fellow of the Infectious Disease Society of America.

Prof. Jean Chastre, MD
Prof. Chastre is a Professor of Medicine at Paris VI University School of Medicine in Paris, France. He is also the Director of the Medical Intensive Care Unit, Groupe Hospitalier Pitié-Salpêtrière in Paris, France. He is a recognized expert in the performance of clinical outcomes research in the ICU setting, and his clinical research focus has been the understanding, diagnosis, and treatment of nosocomial pneumonia and the improved care of mechanically ventilated patients. He has published over 170 peer-reviewed papers, and authored 18 book chapters.

Prof. Jérôme Pugin, MD
Prof. Pugin is Head of the Intensive Care Division at the University Hospitals of Geneva, Switzerland. Specialised in internal medicine and intensive care medicine, he shares his time between clinical work and research in the Department of Microbiology and Molecular Medicine at the Faculty of Medicine of the University of Geneva. He is currently Vice President of the French Intensive Care Society. Since 2011, he is Vice-Dean of the Faculty for Clinical Medicine.

Prof. Pierre-François Laterre, MD
Prof. Laterre is Head of the Intensive Care Unit at St. Luc University Hospital, Université Catholique de Louvain in Brussels, Belgium. His professional and scientific activities have focused on the diagnosis, investigation and treatment of sepsis, severe Community Acquired Pneumonia, liver failure, and ARDS. Prof. Laterre lectures widely, acts both as reviewer and editor for several major scientific journals, and is author of many publications. Prof. Laterre is President of the French Intensive Care Society and member of the European Society of lntensive Care medicine, the Belgian Society of lnfectious Diseases and the Belgian Society of lntensive Care medicine.

Dr. Philippe Eggimann, MD
Dr. Eggimann, specialized in Intensive Care, Internal Medicine and Infectious Diseases, is attending physician at the Department of Adult Intensive Care Medicine at Centre Hospitalier Universitaire Vaudois, Lausanne, Switzerland. He has been awarded by several institutions and has been member of several groups: European Society of Clinical Microbiology and Infectious Diseases (ESCMID), Swiss Sepsis Group, Swiss Society of Intensive Care Medicine. He is reviewer of several scientific journals, including Lancet Infectious Diseases, AJRCCM, Clinical Infectious Diseases, Intensive Care Medicine, and Infection. He has participated in several clinical studies in sepsis and nosocomial infections in critically ill patients.

Prof. Jordi Rello, MD
Prof. Rello is Head of the Critical Care Department, Hospital Vall d’Hebron, and Professor of Medicine at University Autonoma of Barcelona, Spain. He was trained on clinical epidemiology at Harvard Medical School and was awarded with Investigator Awards of the American College of Chest Physicians and IDSA. He pioneered therapeutic studies for VAP and SCAP. He was president of the Catalonian Society of Critical Care, Chair of the Infection Section at the European Society of Intensive Care Medicine. He is founder and current chair of the critically ill patient study group at the ESCMID society, and Head of the Working Group on Pneumonia and Director of Research Group of CIBERES. He published more than 400 scientific articles and serves in the editorial board of various medical journals